My ever increasing grocery bill

I am a mom of five, who has gone through many food shopping/necessity shopping changes over the last 30 years! Now it is just my 19 year old, my 11 year old and me. The bills are definitely less, but it costs a lot to buy fresh food. We feel better for it though, and we are definitely at the doctor less.

A Game of Diapers

Sawyer riding in the cart. Sawyer riding in the cart.

That moment when you get to the cash register and realize you have spent $450 dollars for what you hope is two weeks worth of groceries.

I shop sales, clip coupons, use my |PC Points and get my groceries at the Real Canadian Superstore (which I think has the best prices for what I need) but it seems like every trip seems to get more and more expensive.

When I was single and buying groceries for myself I would buy whatever I wanted, spending about $200 for two weeks.  Lots of food would go to waste and I always felt silly cooking dinners for just myself.  I couldn’t wait to have a family because I believed that I would actually save money (value wise).  I could buy in bulk, there would be no leftovers and nothing would go bad before it was eaten.

As I paid for today’s…

View original post 868 more words

Leave a Reply

