Colorful Flowers for Sale! (oops, I forgot about Mother’s Day)

flowers at the food store 002

Flowers for sale! The local market here has some beautiful flowers for sale in the front of the store. I am thinking this extra display is for Mother’s Day which is this Sunday here in the U.S.. Well, I am a bad daughter this year, because I just realized yesterday that Mother’s Day is 2 days away, and I have not mailed a card or sent a gift. I am in trouble. My mother is wonderful, and has been my sounding board and source of strength through many hard times, and I thank her more than she will ever know, but sadly, my card will be late this year. I will be sure to call and send a Facebook greeting, which may help me not appear like a neglectful daughter! I am partly being sarcastic here, since my mom and I talk several times a week and she knows I love and treasure her dearly! I tell her all the time, not just on Mother’s Day. But I will still be sure to send a cute card in the mail. In this age of instant access online and quick one-liners on Facebook, a letter or a card in the mail is something extra special, and a dying tradition.

flowers at the food store 001

2 thoughts on “Colorful Flowers for Sale! (oops, I forgot about Mother’s Day)

  1. It’s Mother’s Day in Australia this weekend too. Neither of my daughters lives in their home town now, but I know I will enjoy a lovely conversation with each of them, courtesy of Skype. The wonders of modern technology.

Leave a Reply

