10 Strange, Interesting and Unique Things I Noticed while in New York City

Near 7th Avenue

OK, so I love lists, and had to do this one. New York City is a vibrant, energizing place, but I have noticed some very interesting things that I haven’t seen anywhere else:

1) The don’t walk sign on the street corners in New York really means just run for it if there are no cars coming.

2) The very persistent hawkers in Times Square who get right up in your face, trying to sell tickets to a show. They say the most interesting things to get your attention. My favorite was, “I really won’t hurt anyone”. That is supposed to make me buy a ticket?

3) The people in costume in Times Square (Elmo, Cookie Monster, a Rocket dancer), who come right up to you, give you a hug, and attempt to take a picture with you, then attempt to charge you a huge price for the pic! (I knew about this scam and veered away from Cookie Monster).

4) The large amount of people who know about the free Staten Island Ferry ride!!

5) The taxi drivers who manage to make a two lane road into a three lane road. I didn’t realize the taxi could fit into such a small space. This is not an experience unique to this visit either, it happens every time we ride in a taxi.

6) The taxis apparently do not use their air conditioning, we were literally dripping sweat.

7) New Yorkers are very helpful! When I attempted to go through the subway entrance by turning the turnstyle backwards, wasting the last amount of money on my metrocard, a transit worker let all six of us in the access door!

8) The men peddling the buggies for tourists. Who in their right mind would risk their life to ride in one of these with the huge city buses and crazy taxi drivers all around? (You can see one in my picture).

9) How people can walk across a crosswalk without looking forward, therefore bumping headlong into me!

10) Starbucks on every corner (well, maybe that is an exaggeration, but it seemed like it, much to our delight).

So that is my list and I am sure there are many more I can add, but my computer is getting really hot! I hope you enjoyed!

3 thoughts on “10 Strange, Interesting and Unique Things I Noticed while in New York City

  1. I just loved browsing thru your blog about your Nature Walk, also the interesting things about NY City, made me laugh, so very true were all your observations!!

Leave a Reply

