#100HappyDaysChallenge post #14 Hiking in the Morning Woods, and Oh! Is that a SNAKE??!

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 015

Is that a snake?? I almost stepped on this little guy. I don’t know if it was poisonous, but I was not waiting to find out.

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 017

A flowering bush by the start of the trail.

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 010

Not sure what they of plant this was. Some kind of fern, but the flowers looked almost tropical.

In my quest to recover from pancreatitis, I attempt to walk a little further each day. The neighborhood walks of late have become very boring, so I decided to head down to a local nature center for my morning walk, camera in hand. (Does stopping and taking pictures while walking count as exercise?). I was bitten my a lot of mosquitoes whenever I stopped, so these were quick pictures. It rained heavily last night, and the trees were laden with water. It was so still in the woods, that one could hear the water dripping from the trees. Peaceful. This was the first time I have gone hiking at a nature center by myself, since I have always had children with me, so it was a great time for introspection also.

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 011

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 008 Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 009 Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 012 Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 013  Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 014 Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 018

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 001

Great ideas on starting a wildlife habitat in your backyard.

Ray Harrell Nature Park in Oklahoma 002

Leave a Reply

