Fighting off the Travel Bug with an Interesting Read

abroad at home

Abroad at Home, by National Geographic. This is a very interesting read, and highlights places to see in America which provide an international experience. I love the way it is divided into the various regions of the U.S., with detailed instructions on where to go and when certain festivals take place.

The travel bug is biting again, and I have a problem: I just got back from a trip a few months ago. I am finding that that more I travel, the more I want to travel. Of course there is the practical side of working around my children’s schedules, the cost of travel, and so on. I find that the best thing for me to stave off the travel bug is to research for my next trip and to read about travel and other cultures/countries. On that note, I borrowed a few books from the library related to travel. One I am reading now is National Geographic’s “Abroad at Home”, which highlights places in America which make the traveler feel like they are somewhere else in the world. I love that idea, since international travel is very pricey and just not something I can do right now. I have a few travel quotes I wanted to share as I believe they echo the thoughts of fellow travelers.

Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

“I urge you to travel – as far and as widely as possible. Sleep on floors if you have to. Find out how other people live and eat and cook. Learn from them – wherever you go.” -Anthony Bourdain

3 thoughts on “Fighting off the Travel Bug with an Interesting Read

Leave a Reply

